Melbourne Zoo

On a whim, me and a friend decided to head to the zoo, I was very keen to take the camera along for a workout. This is a Red Panda, Ailurus fulgens, or “shining cat”

The Orangutan enclosure was surrounded by angry parents and over-enthusiastic children, so getting a decent shot was virtually impossible, but they were still fun to watch, very inquisitive animals.

The Pelicans were awesome, I could get within 2 metres of them before they bothered to take any notice, so when I had eye contact I started snapping away.

The Tiger enclosure was very dark, making it difficult to photograph with my D60/70-300mm f/4.5 – 5/6 combo. Looking forward to upgrading to a much nicer combo of the D300s/70-200mm VRII f/2.8.

However I was able to get the attention of the largest Tiger!

Hopefully I’ll have a car related update soon!

-Ryan Gillin

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Melbourne Zoo

  1. blair says:

    whattahead

  2. kriss says:

    Orangutan has same back hair as Oxer

Leave a Reply

